Shirley Chater Enduring Leadership Award

The award is presented annually to an individual who is a strong advocate for NurseTRUST and the nursing profession, and a person known for leadership in their organization and community, with high standards, and experience leading through challenging times.

The Shirley Chater Enduring Leadership Award is named in honor of Dr. Shirley Chater, a renowned nurse, healthcare leader and advocate for nursing leadership. Dr. Chater was President of Texas Women’s University from 1986 to 1993 and the Commissioner of Social Security Administration from 1993 to 1997. This award recognizes individuals who embody Dr. Chater's spirit of leadership, innovation, and dedication to developing nurse leaders to improve nursing, health, health equity, and healthcare.

2024 Award Winner

   Andrea Williams, MAEd
   Director, Population Health, Societal Advancement
   Center for Creative Leadership



2023 Award Winner

   Marilyn Chow, Ph.D., RN, DNS, FAAN
   Kaiser Permanente, Vice President of National Patient Care Services and 
Innovation - Retired